This is the first US Mint in Philadelphia. It was located at 7th and Arch Streets and authorized by Congress in 1792. The first Director of the US Mint was David Rittenhouse. Rittenhouse was an inventor, an astronomer and a philosopher. The mint was the first building authorized and built by the newly formed United States of America.

An Online Tour of the Mints of the United States

This page will cover the history of the mints in Philadelphia. There have also been mints in Carson City, San Francisco and Denver and even West Point. In the early 1800's mints were even opened in Louisiana, Georgia and North Carolina, but these were short lived. Philadelphia has had four different building house the mint in the city. To see the other three mint buildings click on a link below.

List of Links

The Second US Mint:
The Third US Mint:
The Fourth US Mint (This is the official Goverment site):
View the Act of Congress which authorized the Mints:
Take a United States Coin Quiz:
See other mints/pictures: